The Corpus separatum of Fiume (formally known as City of Fiume and its district) was the name of the legal and political status of the city of Fiume (modern Rijeka), instituted by Empress Maria Theresia in 1776, determining the semi-autonomous status of Fiume within the Habsburg Empire until the fall of the Austro-Hungarian Empire in 1918 – the longest-lasting known case of an actually implemented corpus separatum.